h1

R e p a r…tea

November 13, 2005

On my recent trip to South east asia, I was served huge glasses of tea which reminded me of an interesting incident that happened several years ago.

My immediate boss was tremendously entrepreneurial( He was to get three cars and six promotions in just one year and go on to a build a big business of his own) but at that time being at a relatively junior level, he was saddled with a boss who was exactly his opposite and used to impede every major and minor initiative/ issue with “Let’s discuss”.

When me and my boss got an opportunity to meet the chairman’s son, he tried to prevail upon him the danger in discussing every minor issue. Observing that he was very upset, the chairman’s son told him ,” Lets discuss this over a cup of tea”.

Over tea, my Boss began explaining how things were becoming bureaucratic and stifling with every minor step being impeded with “Let’s discuss” . Then looking at me he said ,” We are not schoolchildren that we cannot take decisions ourselves. Why don’t you say something?”

He said this so suddenly that the tea in my mouth almost spilled out. For a moment, I was perplexed. Then I got a bolt from the blue. Addressing the chairman’s son, I blurted out, “ The situation is so bad, sir that even at his Wedding night, he probably did nothing. They probably spent the whole night discussing”

Needless to mention, my boss and the Chairman’s son were in splits. Later on I came to know that even the Chairman had a good laugh. That was one heck of a repartee over tea.

14 comments

  1. Hi Hiren,
    First time on your blog. The connection of stock market with ladies and spiritualism…boss it has got bells ringing in my head. Had heard this before too, from a guy called Sanjeev Pandiya. I think you guys are on the right track. Mr Pandiya writes an article, ‘of this and that’ for a mag, called ‘Value Research’. Do check it out, its online too.


  2. LOL
    Thats hilarious! Can’t hardly believe it really happened! 🙂


  3. You were so bold and hilarious!:-)funny post!


  4. First time on ur blog….
    Definitely worth more visits!


  5. Hilarious and very funny..


  6. ha ha, good one.

    first time on your blog, nice blog you have got here.


  7. nice to have drama at tea time! good one…


  8. just dropped here to look for the new one..
    Wishing you to come back soon…
    take care


  9. ha ha.. momentory jokes act as anecdotes 🙂


  10. well, that was indeed a good one imagining the fix you were in when they suddenly pointed the gun at you!! 😉

    too bad that the person you were talking about wasn’t around, I’m sure he would’ve liked to discuss that statement!! 😀


  11. hahaha

    That’s classic. Thank god for you your boss and chairman have a sense of humour.

    Kaushik

    Thanks for visiting my blog, by the way.


  12. cool man cool!!!!!!!u r simply great–>


  13. Oh man! this is hilarious!! good thinking on ur feet !


  14. There’s nothing funnier than quick response repartee.
    Well done.



Leave a Reply

